Helen Hollick (1953         )



Helen Hollick is the author of the Arthurian trilogy, The Pendragon's Banner and the novels, Harold The King, The Hollow Crown and Sea Witch. 


Helen was born in Walthamstow, North East London, in 1953 and began writing at the age of 13. 

Interestingly Helen chose not to include Merlin and Lancelot in her Arthurian novels, as she wanted there to be no magic or Medieval myth. She was accepted for publication by William Heinemann just after her 40th birthday. 


Helen is currently working as an advisor on the film '1066' a film that is likely to cover much of what she wrote about in her historical novel 'Harold The King.'

Published Historical Novels

Pendragon's Banner

  • The Kingmaking (1994)

  • Pendragon's Banner (1995)

  • The Shadow Of The King (1997)


  • Harold The King (2000)

  • A Hollow Crown: The Story of Emma, Queen of Saxon England (2004)

  • Sea Witch (2006)

Official Site - www.helenhollick.net

Blog - www.helenhollick.blogspot.com

Listen to Helen talking about her Arthurian novels

Image:Once future king cover.jpg
TH White
Find out about the famous Arthurian fantasy

Bernard Cornwell
Find out about his intriguing Warlord Chronicles

Marion Zimmer Bradley
Find out about her best selling Arthurian novel


Copyright 1999 [www.thependragon.co.uk]. All rights reserved.
Revised: November 04, 2011 .